Welcome to Cowdenbeath F.C. - Contact Us

2011/12 Season News

Cowdenbeath 'A' 1 QOS 'A' 1

Click to Decrease Text Size Click to Enlarge Text Size Print

Cowdenbeath 'A' 1 QOS 'A' 1

PostedSeptember 27, 2011

Dene Droudge made his much anticipated comeback from injury as the second XI came from behind for a second successive game to maintain their unbeaten run.

The visitors opened in lively fashion and a long range effort from McShane in the opening minute went just past the post and soon after Slattery headed just wide of the target from a Smillie cross.

On the half hour Smillie fired over from the edge of the box while two minutes later Winter broke through the Queen’s defence but saw his shot from 14 yards blocked by the legs of keeper McKenzie.

Ten minutes from the interval Coult saw a shot from the edge of the box turned around the post by the Dunfries custodian.

As the half drew to a close Smillie shot wide of the target after being set up by Kevin Smith while at the other end a Mbu shot was blocked by the keeper.

The second half opened with Milne breaking through the visiting defence but his final shot drifted over the bar, while a minute later Doherty was thwarted by McKenzie.

The deadlock was finally broken in 58 minutes when a Nicky Clark curled home a free kick from the left hand side of the Cowden box.

Their lead proved to be short lived however with Simon Doherty grabbing an equaliser after 66 minutes. The youngster picked up on a short clearance and beat two defenders before slotting the ball home.

The biggest cheer of the night, however, was reserved for comeback man Dene Droudge - making a very welcome first competitive appearance since March 2010 due to a serious knee injury - when he replaced Jamie Pyper for the closing 17 minutes of the game.

With three minutes to go we almost grabbed a winner when Coult fired the ball across the face of the Queen’s goal but Milne just failed to connect.

TEAM: Youssef Bejaoui, Jamie Pyper (Dene Droudge 73), Paul Byrne (Anesu Tabengwa 76), Lewis Milne, Craig Winter, Joe Mbu, Simon Doherty, David Cowan, Liam Callaghan, Lewis Coult & Jordan Morton. Subs not used – Dale Finnie & Lee Wilson.

QOS: Roddy McKenzie, Scott Hooper, Kevin Holt, Andy Millen, Steven Black, Ian McShane, Nicky Clark (Sean Hanlon 69), Pat Slattery, Kevin Smith, Ryan Smillie & Dean Smith (Lewis Todd 72).

REFEREE: Mr Paul Reid.

Facebook Twitter