Welcome to Cowdenbeath F.C. - Contact Us

2021/22 Season News

Player Of The Year 2020/21

Click to Decrease Text Size Click to Enlarge Text Size Print

Player Of The Year 2020/21

PostedMay 6, 2021

At the conclusion of the 2-0 home win over Albion Rovers, the award ceremony for the Cowdenbeath FC Player of the Year and the Cowdenbeath FC Players’ Player of the Year was held out on the Central Park pitch.

CFC’s Player of the Year award was first instigated way back in 1963 by the Supporters Club and many, many great Central Park names have won this honour. It is still awarded by the Cowdenbeath Supporters Club in conjunction with the season ticket holders of Cowdenbeath FC. The Players’ Player of the Year award of course is also a much coveted accolade as it is awarded by the winner’s playing colleagues. Club President, Bob Brownlie, was the man who did the honours by handing over the awards.

This year we had the relatively rare occurrence of both awards being won by the same player. But, even more remarkably, that player also completed a unique ‘Double Double’ as he carried off both awards last season! It is also the first time in 52 years, since Andy Kinnell back in 1969, that a player has been named CFC’s Player of the Year in consecutive seasons. Thus Cowdenbeath FC’s Player of the Year and Players’ Player of the Year for 2020/21 is once again Craig Barr. Mango the Captain! Well done indeed – and richly deserved for a player who has been an inspiring leader on and off the pitch. Harvey Swann was runner up to Mango in both polls.

Mango also scored our goal of the season (v Wick in the Scottish Cup) – plus he can claim to be our joint top scorer in 2020/21!

There was a further award made to Kyle Miller who joined the very select band of players to have made 300 appearances for Cowdenbeath FC. Kyle’s 300th match was the 2-0 win over Albion Rovers and he celebrated in style by notching the opening goal of the game. Few players nowadays can demonstrate such loyalty to one club and we thank him for his truly great service through the years at Central Park. Kyle made his debut back in 2010 but actually first came our youth set up way back in 2004. He joins Raymond Allan, Craig Winter, Denis Jack and Willie Pullar as the players who have achieved this Cowden milestone.

You can watch the presentation of the awards here.

Facebook Twitter