Welcome to Cowdenbeath F.C. - Contact Us

2016/17 Season News


Click to Decrease Text Size Click to Enlarge Text Size Print


PostedFebruary 3, 2017

Saturday see's us play our first home game in a month when we welcome Jim Weir and his Elgin side to Central Park with a 3 p.m. kick off.

The Borough Briggs side, currently sitting in third place, have beaten us twice so far this season. On the opening day of the league campaign a goal from Craig McLeish separated the sides while at Borough Briggs in late October goals from Brian Cameron, Archie MacPhee and Shane Sutherland saw them 3-0 up before Brian Ross pulled back a late consolation.

Weir's side will head south in a confident mood as they are currently on a seven game unbeaten run in the league with the only points dropped in that spell coming in a 2-2 draw with Arbroath after leading 2-0 at Gayfield Park. In fact you have to go back to November 19th for their last league defeat when they went down 1-0 at Annan.

Elgin are top scorers in the division with 50 league goals from their 21 games with Shane Sutherland scoring 17 of them following his return from Peterhead in the summer.

For our part those fans who didn't make it to either Montrose or Forfar in recent weeks could see five new faces in the squad since our last home game with Berwick on January 7th.

Scott Rumsby and Liam Henderson both made their debuts at Montrose a fortnight ago, while Dale Carrick made a scoring debut at Forfar last week. Since then head coach Liam Fox as added Matthew Rooney and Robbie Buchanan to his squad and Robbie could be in line to make his third debut for us following previous loan spells in the last two seasons.


REFEREE: David Munro ASSISTANT REFEREE'S: Ivan Stanovic & David Ingram



CONCESSIONS - 6 (65 and over, 16 & under, students)

FAMILY - 14 (1 adult with 1 child aged 12 or under) 15 (1 adult with 2 children 12 or under)

SEASON TICKET - voucher number 11

PROGRAMME - 2.50 (48 page full colour issue which won this season's Independent View Magazine League Two Programme of the Year).

Previewer: Andrew Mullen.

Facebook Twitter