Welcome to Cowdenbeath F.C. - Contact Us

2012/13 Season News

Selkirk 2 Cowdenbeath 3

Click to Decrease Text Size Click to Enlarge Text Size Print

Selkirk 2 Cowdenbeath 3

PostedJuly 18, 2012

A last gasp goal from Jamie Stevenson saw us complete a dramatic comeback at Yarrow Park on Tuesday night. ‘The Souters’, managed by Michael McKinnon who had a brief spell at Central Park in the mid- 90s had stormed into a 2-0 lead early in the second half but we once again showed great resilience to claim a win. The deadlock was almost broken just short of the half hour when McKenzie fired in a cross with Miller seeing his header come off the post and seven minutes from the break a long range effort from Linton was tipped onto the bar and to safety by home keeper Dodds. Colin Cameron made four changes to his line up for the second half but we were shocked by the home side who scored twice within 60 seconds. Jamie Gibson slotted home the opener after 53 minutes and seconds later he grabbed a second goal after slack defending. Lewis Coult however matched Gibson in the scoring stakes by bagging a brace. He reduced the deficit on 58 minutes running through the home defence before firing home an angled shot. With 20 minutes remaining it appeared that Stevenson had headed home an equaliser but the assistant referee flagged for off side. The equaliser however came five minutes later when trialist Thomas Gonzalez outstripped the home defence to slot the ball to Coult who fired the ball low into the bottom corner of the net. The winning goal came two minutes from time when a throw in from Cowan was flicked on by McDonald to Jamie Stevenson slotted home his fourth goal of the pre -season.

TEAM: Lee Wilson (Greg Paterson 45) (Lee Wilson 71), Dean Brett (David Cowan 45), Kenny Adamson, Colin Cameron, John Armstrong (Joe Mbu 45), Callam McNeill (Thomas O’Brien 45), Marc McKenzie (Thomas Gonzalez 61), Rueben Garcia Rey (Lewis Milne 82), Kyle Miller (Mark Ramsay 45), Lewis Coult (Kieran McDonald 77) & Scott Linton (Jamie Stevenson 61).

SELKIRK: John Dodds, Kenny Munro, Barry Milven, Euan Pritchard, Jamie Higginbottom, Harry McGreson, Michael Holness, Jamie Aitken, Jamie Gibson & Des Sutherland. Subs – Ross McManus, Ryan McManus, Jonny Watt, Aaron Butters, Dean Bayne, Scott McGleghlan, Jason Inglis, Lee Stephen, Bruce Connelly & Brian Tait.

REFEREE: Mr Alan Hogg.

Facebook Twitter